How to Deactivate Users

1. Feature Overview

In order to preserve the integrity of your LeadSquared account history, we don’t allow you to delete users. Instead, you can deactivate them. Users who’ve been deactivated won’t be able to log into LeadSquared.

Note:

    • It is not possible to deactivate the Billing User, or a user who has published a live automation.
    • Before deactivating a user you should ensure that all leads, opportunities and tasks under the user are assigned to an active user. This way you won’t miss out on critical tasks you have to perform. This can be done via Bulk Update.

 

2. Configure User Deactivation Rules

To restrict your Admins from deactivating users with associated leads/opportunities, enable the following Advanced Configuration setting –

  1. Navigate to My Profile>Settings>Profile>Advanced Configurations.
  2. Search for Configure User Deactivation rules, and click Configure.
  3. On the User Deactivation Rules pop-up, enable the checkbox Checkbox to restrict deactivation –
    • If user has associated Leads
    • If user has associated open Opportunities
  4. Once you’re done, click Save.
Note: Opportunities that have their Status as Open are considered Open Opportunities.

Deactivate Users

 

3. Bulk Update User

Ensure that no leads or open opportunities are tagged to the user you’re about to Deactivate. To do this, change the owner for all the leads and open opportunities tagged to the user –

3.1 Bulk Update Lead Owner

Bulk update the lead owner of all the leads tagged to the user –

  1. Navigate to Leads>Manage Leads.
  2. Alongside the leads tagged to the user you’re about to deactivate, click the Checkbox checkbox.
  3. Then, hover your cursor over the Actions menu, and click Change Owner.
  4. On the Change Owner pop-up, from the dropdown, select the new lead owner, and click Change. This will bulk update the lead owner for the selected leads.

Deactivate Users

 

3.2 Bulk Update Opportunity Owner

Bulk update the opportunity owner of all the open opportunities tagged to the user –

  1. Navigate to Leads>Manage Opportunities .
  2. Alongside the opportunities tagged to the user you’re about to deactivate, click the Checkbox checkbox.
  3. Then, hover your cursor over the Actions menu, and click Bulk Update.
  4. From the Opportunity Field dropdown, select Owner, and from the New Value dropdown, select the new opportunity owner.
  5. Once you’re done, click Update. This will bulk update the opportunity owner for the selected opportunities.

Deactivate Users

 

4. How to Deactivate a User

To deactivate a user in your account –

  1. Navigate to My Profile>Manage Users.
  2. Alongside the user you want to deactivate, hover your cursor over LeadSquared, and click Deactivate.
  3. On the confirmation pop-up, click Deactivate. This will decative the user from your account.

Deactivate Users

 

5. How to Reuse a User’s Email Address

You cannot create a new LeadSquared user with the same email address as a deactivated user. However, you can mark a Deactivated user Obsolete, and then reuse the email address to create a new user.

  1. After you’ve Deactivated a user, navigate to the Users page.
  2. Filter the Status by Inactive.
  3. Alongside the user who’s email address you want to use, hover your cursor over LeadSquared, and click Mark Obsolete.
  4. On the Make User Obsolete pop-up, click Yes. You can now reuse this email address, and assign it to a different user.
Note: You can identify a user marked obsolete when the word “obsolete” is appended to their email address.

Deactivate Users

 

Any Questions?

We’d love to hear your feedback to help improve this article. Feel free to enter your questions or grievances in the comments section below.

Was this Helpful?

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
2 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Nahid Hasan
Nahid Hasan
4 months ago

It is not working….It says There is already an obsolete user in this account, please try activating it.