Data Purge Policy – Feature Guide
1. Feature Overview
The Data Purge feature allows you to automate a bulk deletion process of entities such as system & core activities, custom activities and tasks from your account in a single action. This feature lets you efficiently manage your storage by systematically removing older data that your business no longer requires.
2. Prerequisites
- To enable this feature, contact your account manager, or write to support@leadsquared.com.
- You must be an admin to access this feature.
3. How It Works
- Create a data purge policy and select the Activity Type or Task Type you want to delete.
- Select a date range (30 days, custom range, etc.) outside of which you want to delete this activity or task.
- Only activities or tasks created or modified outside the selected date range will be deleted.
- Activities or tasks modified within the date range will remain in your account.
- For example, suppose today’s date is April 30th and you want to delete the “Document Collection” activity, and you select a 30-day date range. In that case, only this activity modified before April 1st (more than 30 days ago) will be deleted. Activities modified within the last 30 days, regardless of their creation date (such as a Document Collection activity posted on February 15th but modified on April 18th), will remain in your account.
- You can then select to purge activities or tasks created on leads and opportunities.
- You can schedule the purge frequency to be recurring and also select the date for the purge execution.
4. View Activity Distribution by Activity Type Report
Before you create the data purge policy for activities, you can navigate to the Activity Distribution by Activity Type report and view the count of activities in each activity type. This helps you make better decisions and avoid mistakes.
- Navigate to Analytics from your LeadSquared Dashboard.
- In the search bar, look for “Activity Distribution by Activity Type”.
- In the report, under Activity Created On dropdown, select the relevant date range and click Apply. For instance, if today’s date is March 31, 2025 and you select Last 90 Days, all the activities created between January 1, 2025 and March 31, 2025 will be displayed.

5. Create a Data Purge Policy for Activities
5.1 Create Public Policy
To create a data purge policy for activities –
- Navigate to Settings>Data Management and Privacy>Data Purge Policy.
- On the Data Purge Policy grid, click Create.
- On the popup, under Select Entity dropdown, select Activity. Then, select the relevant activity type you want to purge.
- Under Select Age Field for Counting Activity, select either Created On or Modified On depending on your requirement.
- From the Purge Activities with ‘Modified On’ date older than dropdown, select the date range for which you want to delete the activities. Only activities created or modified outside the selected date range will be deleted.
- For instance, if the current date is April 30th and you select 30 days, activities created or modified before March 31st will be deleted.*
- You can also select N Days and enter a custom date range to delete activities created or modified outside this range.
- Enable the Purge Activities Created on Lead to purge all the activities created on leads. Enable the Purge Activities Created on Opportunities to delete activities that are created on particular opportunity types.
Note:
- If you have Object Types enabled on your account, you can select to purge activities created on a particular Object Type instead of all leads in general.
- In the Purge Activities Created on Opportunities dropdown, if any opportunity type has an active purge policy, it will be greyed out.

5.2 Schedule Purge Policy
On the Schedule tab in the popup, select the Purge Frequency:
-
- One-time: The data purge will be executed only once
- Recurring: The data purge will be executed in the selected frequency. For instance, if the date for the first purge execution is 31st July and the purge frequency is 15 days, then the next purge execution will take place on 15th August.
- Then, select the date on which you want to execute the data purge. It can be the current day or any day within 30 days in the future.
- If you’ve selected the Purge Frequency as Recurring, then you must also select the date range to execute the policy.
- Once you’ve entered the relevant details, click Publish Purge Policy.

5.3 Confirm Purge Policy
On the Confirm popup –
- You’re shown a summary of what you’ve selected to be purged, which includes –
- The activity type you’ve selected
- Count of activities
- The data that will be deleted (All Activity field data, All Activity & CFS Attachments and All Activity Audit Trails)
- The date of execution
- Before proceeding with data deletion, click the checkbox.
- This is to confirm your understanding of region-specific compliance guidelines.
- Then, click Publish Purge Policy.

5.4 Create a Data Purge Policy for Activities Created on Opportunities
- Follow the same steps as mentioned above, but on the Purge Policy popup, ensure you enable Purge Activities Created on Opportunities to delete activities that are created on particular opportunity types.
- From the dropdown, select the relevant opportunity types and proceed with the next steps.
- If you want to delete the activities associated only with the opportunities and not leads, you can disable the Purge Activities Created on Leads button.

6. Create a Data Purge Policy for Tasks
To create a data purge policy for tasks –
- Navigate to Settings>Data Management and Privacy>Data Purge Policy.
- On the Data Purge Policy grid, click Create.
- On the popup, under Select Entity dropdown, select Task. Then, select the relevant task type you want to purge.
- Under Select Age Field for Counting Task, select either Created On or Modified On depending on your requirement.
- From the Purge Tasks with ‘Modified On’ date older than dropdown, select the date range for which you want to delete the tasks. Only tasks created or modified outside the selected date range will be deleted.
- For instance, if the current date is April 30th and you select 30 days, tasks created or modified before April 1st will be deleted.*
- You can also select N Days and enter a custom date range to delete tasks created or modified outside this range.
- The Purge Tasks Having Status option lets you select tasks for purging based on their current status.
- Enable the Purge Tasks without Associated Entities to purge all tasks without any associated lead or opportunity. Enable the Purge Activities Created on Lead to purge all the tasks created on leads. Enable the Purge Activities Created on Opportunities to delete tasks that are created on particular opportunity types. Then follow the same steps as mentioned in the earlier section.

7. Data Purge Policy Grid
After creating the policy, it will appear on the Bulk Delete Data Grid with the following details –
| Element | Description |
| Entity | Name of the activity or task |
| Request Type | Either recurring or one-time |
| Status | The status of the request –
|
| Created By | The name of the user who created the request |
| Last Run | The previous time the purge was performed |
| Next Run | The upcoming purge date |

You can also perform the following actions from the actions grid –

7.1 Edit Policy
You can edit a policy when it is in the ‘Scheduled’ status.
- On the Data Purge Policy grid, under Actions, click the gear icon.
- Select Edit Policy, and on the Edit Policy popup, make the relevant changes and save it.

7.2 Revoke
All policies are processed during off-business hours. You can stop the purge action you’ve made when it’s in the ‘Scheduled’ status.
- On the Data Purge Policy grid, under Actions, click the gear icon.
- Select Revoke, and on the Revoke Policy popup, click Yes, Revoke Policy. You can reactivate the policy any time.

7.3 View Summary
View a summary of the purge activity with all the relevant details including the activity type or task type, the date range, the records purged and the dates of the last and the next executions.

7.4 Pause and Reactivate Execution
If your purge policy is recurring, you can pause it while it’s active and reactivate it at any time.
- On the Data Purge Policy grid, click the gear icon alongside any recurring policy in the ‘Active’ status.
- Select Pause Execution, and on the Pause Policy popup, click Pause Policy.

If you want to reactivate a paused policy –
- Click the gear icon alongside the paused policy and select Reactivate.
- On the Reactivate Purge Policy popup, you can view the policy and modify the schedule and reactivate the policy.

Any Questions?
We hope this article was helpful. Please leave us a comment below if you have more questions.
